An introduction

01Aug08
The main purpose of this blog is to share ideas for living a beautiful life on a budget. I’m a person who takes pride in a bargain, but knows when to splurge. I am a firm believer in living below your means, and that doesn’t mean you have to eat ramen and wear unfashionable clothing.

I live in northern Virginia, only a few miles from Washington, DC. I probably could afford a nicer apartment than my studio (which is pretty spacious at almost 600 sq. feet, thank you) but I get kind of anxious if my nest egg gets damaged. I use Google Docs to sort out my monthly budget. I try to account for every expense not budgeted for. This sounds like a drag, but it’s not. I hate math and if I can do it anyone can.

Okay, I’m starting to babble and this post is coming off as dull, so I’ll wrap up with a bit of what you can expect from this blog:

-Links to interesting blogs, and information on sales.
-Images of great Etsy finds. I’m trying to furnish my apartment and my walls with mostly unique art pieces.
-Information on goings on and shopping tips in the Washington, DC and Fredericksburg, VA areas
-Lastly, wedding finds. I’ve finally met the man of my dreams and while I don’t have a ring on my finger just yet, I will soon. I’m a planner, and we have a pretty good idea of what sort of wedding we want.

I know no one is reading this blog just yet, but I do hope that as the months pass I will find a following.

