Attempts at Inspiration

01Aug08

I’ve never claimed to be the hippest person on the internets, so Polyvore is probably not new to many. If you’re even less aware than I am, it’s a site that allows you to make collages without the need of mad Photoshop skillz. Since I have none, this comes in handy. I’ve seen some of the boards the bees at Weddingbee have put together, and I was impressed, so I decided to try one of my own. It’s kind of pathetic and not that involved, but not too terrible for a first try.

Unfortunately I’m one of those girls that has always been hopelessly into weddings, so I could plan a wedding for just about any venue. There are at least a dozen venues in the DC area that I could see me and my lovely boy getting hitched at, but I have fallen love with Glen Echo Park. The park used to be an amusement park from about the turn of the century until the late 60’s. Washingtonians would take the streetcar out to the park and swim in one of the largest pools on the East coast and fling themselves about on rides like The Whip and and Flying Scooters. I included just one photo in my inspiration board, but you can go to the wonderful Soiree Special Events blog to see many more photos. That was the post that made me fall in love with the venue. What made me fall in love with it even more is that it’s run by the National Park Service, so hopefully the venue fees won’t break our budget. This is kind of sad of me to admit, but I haven’t actually found out yet how much said fees are. I’m in denial. I want to believe that that it can happen, and if I find out the fees are above our budget, then well, it won’t.

My board is inspired by Glen Echo Park, even though it’s probably not that obvious at first. I tried to pick photos from outdoor weddings, as if we are lucky enough to book Glen Echo, we will likely have our event in a tent there. As I’ve already mentioned, pink is my favorite color. I adore polka dots. I’m planning on being a short dress bride. I guess it’s kind of evident that I haven’t nailed down my vision yet, huh?

Photo credit (apologies if any are mis-credited, I get distracted by the pretty and don’t always get it right!)
Brooklyn Bride, Martha Stewart Weddings, Soiree Special Events, Aisle Dash, The Bride’s Cafe, Brooklyn Bride, Ritzy Bee & Theknot.com

