A Target Wedding

06Aug08

I am one of those annoying people who can’t get enough of Target. Yes, I even drop the t at the end and call it Targe. I can remember my excitement when the first Target in the area opened, and I have been hooked ever since. As I was browsing through target.com to look for some decorative pieces for my apartment, I thought it would be a neat idea to do an inspiration board based on the color palette I’m toying with for my wedding (pink, green, black, white) and some lovely bits n’ bobs I found that would work well.

First off are these lovely little bird bud vases. I’m not a fan of matchy-matchy centerpieces, and I love the idea of having a collection of bud vases on a table versus one arrangement in a vase. I would put the birds on half the tables, and the cylinder vase on the other. I want to add a pop to my white dress by adding some costume jewelry. I’m not a huge fan of big baubles, I love the cheap stuff.  I thought the frame would be lovely either to showcase photos of the bride and groom, or if you’re showcasing photos of loved ones.

I could easily see my maids in any one of these dresses.  Best of all, they all retail for about $50, so I’m not forcing my maids to shell out a lot of money for dresses they will never wear again. I’ve never been a fan of the shiny, satiny bridesmaids dresses, and since I envision our wedding as being a casual, afternoon affair, these would work well. Now I just need to decide if I want pink or green dresses! The wedding dress is an absolute steal at $90. I’ve been in love with it for awhile, and was tempted to buy it before I even had a groom. Unfortunately I doubt it would flatter my figure, as I am a short, chubby girl, but I can dream.

The shoes would go tie together the color scheme and would be gentle on my maids feet.  I love these faux tulips, they would be excellent for ceremony decor, which frankly, I could give a poo about. We’ll only be there for less than an hour, so I’m not putting too much thought into it. They’d also work well on a cake table at the reception.  Lastly, I love this polka-doted flower girl dress. I honestly don’t even know if I’ll have a flower girl as all the girls in my family are too old or too young, but it was too cute not to include in the inspiration board.

