An Ikea Wish List

11Aug08

As I mentioned last week, the new Ikea catalog recently came out, and for me it recalls the childhood joy of when the Sears Christmas book would arrive every September.  With Ikea the dream is reachable. Their items are affordable, especially to furnish a first home stylishly without breaking the bank.

Right now I lack the patience to create inspiration boards specific to the bedroom, kitchen, etc., so this board contains a little of everything for several rooms in the house.  The first place I usually look when I get the new Ikea catalog or when I’m visiting their site is the children’s section. I’m a huge fan of bold, bright colors and whimsical design, and there are several pieces that fit the bill without screaming “this belongs in a five year old’s room!” The chandelier, pink & green lamp, mirror and pink & green storage unit are from the children’s section.

My mother pointed out the pink chaise to me, and I am fully in love with it. I’m not sure how the man in my life would feel about it, but I think it would work well in a guest room. I love wall decals, especially since I’m a renter. I have a spot for these in my closet/hallway, but I’m thinking I should probably just hold off buying them as I’m hoping to move within the next six months, and most decals don’t look as good going up the second time, they can often rip when you take them off.

If I had my way, I’d have at least a sliver of pink in every room. But I know when you live with someone else, you have to incorporate their taste into the home, and I am fully aware that the use of too much color can go from quirky to tacky if overused. I am also aware I might have issues when it comes to the color pink, as everyone who knows me gathers pretty quickly that it’s my favorite color. Unfortunately my boyfriend does not like pink. His idea of a great living room involves Boston Terrier lamps, a large TV (which I have no problems with) and painting it burgundy and gold as he’s a huge Washington Redskins fan. Luckily he does have taste buried underneath it all, and when I point him out pieces of art and furniture, he usually does like them, so there is a glimmer of hope that my living room won’t be covered with framed posters of dogs playing golf.

