Working out on a budget.

14Aug08

I’m not going to insult anyone’s intelligence by saying “gyms are expensive!” because I think that statement is pretty obvious. Sure, there are good deals that you can get, but most people that I know who have gym memberships don’t go as often as they should, so thus it’s money wasted. Don’t get me wrong, gyms are not evil. I’m not just not a fan of their marketing techiniques and price increases. So, I do most work-outs at home.

A large part of my work-outs are walking. I work in a large building and my job often requires me to go from floor to floor. If I’m doing a building walk-through, going all ten floors, I’m walking about a mile. I also like to get out at lunch at walk for at least 30 minutes. I pair that with a work-out either in the morning or at home. I’m a big fan of the Prevention and 10 Minute Solution series. I don’t always do a ten minute work-out, I usually combine at least two of the work-outs, but the 10 minute work-outs are nice for those days when you’re in a hurry.

Collage Video is a great site that my mom introduced me to, as a complaint most people have about excercise DVDs is that they don’t want to purchase them without knowing whether they’ll enjoy the work-out, and they also rate the DVDs on the fitness level they’re appropriate for. This site has previews of almost 800 workout DVDs, so you can get an idea as to whether or not it will be for you. You can also purchase DVDs from the site, but I would recommend Deep Discount or Overstock.com for lower prices.

For work-out equipment, such as fitness balls or weights, check the discount stores first. Five Below (at least the one closest to me) has weights and other equipment at incredibly low prices.

I do attend yoga classes on a somewhat regular basis. I can’t say weekly, but I do try and go at least once a month. I’d go more often, but yoga is not good for the pocket book. In the DC area, the lowest price for classes that I’ve found is $15. I attend classes at Journeyoga, where the classes are $20, and Tranquil Space, where classes are $18. I prefer Journeyoga, just because Tranquil Space is such a large studio and I can sometimes feel like I’m packed in like a sardine, and the classes are much smaller at Journeyoga. Studio passes can help, but I often have a hard time throwing down $90+ on yoga passes when I could be using that money to pay down debt or at least for something more practical, even if yoga does help calm my mind and help me reach my fitness goals. I just wish it wasn’t so cost prohibitive. I often do the 20 minute yoga portion of my Budokon DVD, because it is an intense practice, and a great way to start the day.

There is one free yoga option if you live near a Lululemon store, my local store offers free yoga every Sunday, with classes tought by area yoga teachers, just make sure to get there early, as the classes fill up fast!

No Responses Yet to “Working out on a budget.”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

