Vendor Ideas-Part One

20Aug08

A small part of my job is planning our yearly events, a picnic in the summer and a holiday party in December. This has given me some experience working with local vendors. While I got no credit for it, I have chosen the location for our last two holiday parties, and have worked closely with the coordinators there. This type of work has shown me exactly what I’m looking for in vendors, since a lot of them are so flaky and unresponsive. 

I do have a vendor “dream list” for the DC area, either vendors that I’ve worked with in the past, or that I’ve seen very positive reviews on the net about them.

Flowers: Volanni. They provide us with gorgeous orchids for the office, and any time I have to order flowers to deliver to client, I order from them because they are very contemporary and have a unique design aesthetic. They are on the more expensive side, but since I’m not planning on overdoing it with flowers, and may just use flowers from Costco or another wholesaler to use on the tables, I could afford to use them for my bouqets. They are always very responsive and helpful when I call them.
Food: Dixie Bones BBQ. Some brides would turn up their noses at BBQ at a wedding, but I am not one of them. I think it’s a wonderful informal, and best of all inexpensive way to feed our guests without going totally broke. You can either have them cater the event or they’ll package everything up for you and you can self-cater. I’m also interested in R&R Catering. They also have a “to go” package available which would save a lot of money and work well for our informal wedding.
Coordinator: Soiree Special Events I love their blog, they feature some of the best wedding ideas in the DC area. Some budget brides wouldn’t have a day of coordinator, but I am a firm believer that it will save my sanity to have one. Soiree’s prices for day of services are reasonable for the services they provide.
Photographer: I am in love with Laura Swanson‘s work, and I like that she has an eye for non-traditional couples and ceremonies. I don’t want a photographer that is only familar with the “traditional”.

No Responses Yet to “Vendor Ideas-Part One”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

