Things I will splurge on-part one

28Aug08

I am pretty frugal by nature. But there are a few things in life worth spending extra for.

A really good bra. I am blessed in the breast region, so this means that it can be difficult to find a bra that will actually fit me. Last December I went to Coup De Foudre in DC’s Penn Quarter and was fitted for a bra for the first time since I was a teenager. I was a bit aghast at what my true size is, but I was able to find a wonderful bra that while it cost me $70, fits like a dream. It’s not exactly a sexy bra, but it is practical. Since I can’t afford to have all my bras from fancy French lingerie companies, I buy the rest of my bras at Fredericks of Hollywood. The fit is not as perfect as with my fancy French bra, but if you’re an A cup or a FF, Fredericks can work well and the prices can’t be beat. Don’t be afraid to go into the store, I know a lot of people think it’s tacky, and it can be, but don’t be afraid!

A nice hotel room. On my trip to Roanoke, we ended up having to stay in a hotel since there was unfortunately an illness in the family. My boyfriend will stay just about anywhere. I’m more picky. I look at hotels like I would look at any purchase. I want to pay what it’s worth, or come in under that price. A lot of hotels are overpriced for what they are. We ended up staying at a perfectly adequate Days Inn for $63 a night. Sure, there was a mystery stain on the bathroom door, but it was suitable for one night’s stay.

Good skin care. I do buy a lot of my skincare from the drugstore, but as I get older, I’m realizing that I need to get more specialized items. My once overly greasy skin has turned into combination skin, with my “T Zone” becoming a dry, flaky nightmare. Philosphy’s Hope In A Jar does help with my issues.

Good Tweezers. ‘Nuff said.

Perfume. I am a huge fan of scent. I tend to like sweet smelling fragrances like Pink Sugar and Chocolovers. I buy the smallest bottles, as I like to mix up what I wear as not to grow tired of it. Most of my fragrance collection is mostly perfume oil from Black Phoenix Alchemy Lab. It is a leap of faith to order perfume on the internet, and I know it’s not for everyone. Luckily if you get something and you hate it, you can sell it on ebay at a profit. I have found some of my all-time favorite scents at Black Phoenix, the only downside is if you love something, it’s best to buy a bottle or two, especially of their limited edition scents. I’ve fallen in love with their Sugar Cookie perfume, and they haven’t made it for two years now, so I doubt they will again.

I will add to this list when I’m feeling a bit more inspired!

No Responses Yet to “Things I will splurge on-part one”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

