Make your own wedding organizer

17Sep08

Last night the boy stayed over and we watched season 2 of Dexter while I went through my pile of wedding magazines and started to narrow down the vision for our day. As I was flipping through the pile, I saw an ad for a wedding organizer. I’m the type of person that needs to have things in front of me, so a lot of the online tools just won’t work for me.

I looked online to find the lowest priced organizer. There is the ever so hip Russell + Hazel organizer. The organized bride. The adorable Mindy Weiss planner.

All of the planners are functional and attractive, but I just cannot see spending that kind of money for something I could easily make myself. There are lots of checklists and other wedding templates that you can download for free. I wouldn’t really bother with the ones from Martha Stewart or Real Simple. They’re nice, but not as involved for the overly detailed among us like myself. I downloaded nearly every template that Russell + Hazel has on their site. They are very detailed and work well for me.

Then I got a 2″ binder and some Avery Big Tab dividers and went to town. I tried to keep things simple so I didn’t have 450 tabs. A tab for each vendor, attire for the brides, maids, and groomsmen, etc. I’m hoping that this will suit me well, but we’ll see. I have a feeling it might get too big too quickly. Luckily I am putting all my inspiration photos in plastic inserts, so once those decisions have been made I can remove them from the binder.

It’s funny, but this “first step” makes me feel a bit more grounded. I’m still not ready to tackle the tricky budget stuff yet, but I will have to in another week or so after we corner ask our parents what their contribution will be to the wedding fund.

One Response to “Make your own wedding organizer”

  1. 1 colombiancoffee

    You should check out places like Marshalls and TJ Max. They often have books and planners that are nicely discounted. I got my wedding planner there for about $7.00


Leave a Reply

