Officially engaged!

22Sep08

As I mentioned last week, we bought our wedding rings, so the proposal wasn’t exactly a surprise, but it was lovely nonetheless. No grand affair, but that’s never what I would have wanted anyway. Just him on one knee, telling me how he feels about me. In this day and age people tend to forget that it’s not so much about the wedding, but about the marriage. You can click here to see a somewhat blurry photo of my ring.

Today at work everyone is giving their congratulations and I feel really loved and appreciated, which is a change for how I often feel at work. I’m going to enjoy it for a few days before going forward with the planning, although the first thing I’ll be doing is booking the venue. While the American Visionary Art Museum is not what I would call a “budget” location, I’m a firm believer that you should throw money at the things that are important to you in your wedding, and the venue is important to me. I will make up for it by saving money in places that aren’t as important to me, such as flowers. Don’t get me wrong, the decor is important, I just don’t believe that flowers have to be a big part of it.

The only other venue that appeals to me is Glen Echo Park, and since their event planner takes over a week to reply to e-mail, it’s just not going to happen. I am a type A person, and I cannot have my wedding at a venue where I don’t fully trust their planner. Alicia, the planner at AVAM (as I will now call the museum) is on the ball, and I’ve worked with her before when I planned a party at the museum five years ago. To me it’s worth the money to have the reception/ceremony location coordinator to be at the top of their game.

It will take a few more days of staring at my ring for it to settle in that I am, in fact, engaged, but I’m going to enjoy the celebratory feeling while it lasts.

No Responses Yet to “Officially engaged!”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

