Baltimore Wedding Venues

01Oct08

Since I grew up north of Baltimore and worked in the city for ten years, it was a no-brainer to consider having a wedding there, as I know the city better than any other. As I mentioned in a post last week, the boy and I will begin looking at venues this weekend. The main contender is AVAM, followed closely by Geppi’s Entertainment Museum. Dani, their event planner, sent me a packet of information today and I’m even more excited to look at the space. One new vendor to the list is The National Aquarium, which is actually the cheapest of the three. I was surprised by that, figuring they’d charge an arm and a leg. I am still suspicious, I have a feeling there’s a catch there. I already asked about restrictions due to the animals and that ruled out one space I was considering (near the dolphins, the music from the reception would obviously disturb them), but I’d hopefully be okay with the space I’m considering. I am cautiously optimistic.

I do have a “B” list of venues I’m considering should none of these work out, or if we decide to scale back the budget a great amount. Here are a few spaces to consider if like me, you have no desire to get married in a hotel ballroom.

Ripken Stadium. I grew up in Aberdeen, MD so this is a natural choice, as it’s also Cal Ripken’s hometown. You can even get married on the field, which I think is unique and not possible at many (if any?) major league fields.

If you want to go for a nautical theme, then go with The Havre de Grace Maritime Museum. The building is unique looking, it would make for great photos. The rates are also incredibly reasonable, and your guests will fall in love with historic Havre de Grace, it’s one of the most beautiful towns in Maryland in my opinion.

Maryland Historical Society is in a good location and the price is right. I haven’t heard back from them yet, but I may give them a call and see if I can schedule a meeting the next time I’ll be in Baltimore.

The Elm is very charming and pretty reasonably priced. I’ve heard excellent things from other brides about this charming place, and the photos really make me want to schedule a visit. This location is also adjacent to Hampden, one of my favorite neighborhoods in Baltimore.

No Responses Yet to “Baltimore Wedding Venues”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

