Another post about budget vs. expectations

03Oct08

Excuse me if my thoughts are not exactly coherent today, as I am an old lady who really shouldn’t be out until nearly midnight on a school night, screaming and jumping around at a New Kids on the Block concert.

The general suckness of work of late reached a new level today. I basically hit a wall and decided that instead of waiting another month to begin looking for work in the boy’s town, I would start now. I had wanted to build up my savings, and stay at my current job so I can get my Christmas bonus, but eh, forget that. I made the dreaded phone call to my apartment building, as in order for this plan to come to life, I will need to break my lease, which is not up until May, 2009. I had wrestled with signing the lease for a few reasons that I won’t bore you with, and I wish I hadn’t. Luckily the apartment manager said he would try and see if he could talk to the landlord to reduce the penalty (which is about what I figured it would be) for me, mainly because I am getting married. So, we’ll see.

So with all the new happy things (hopefully) happening soon: finally living with my fiancĂ©, new job, buying the first new car I’ve ever had in my life, I’ve finally pulled my head out of my rear and realized that THIS is what’s important. The life we make together. Not the wedding. I have had it stuck in my head that we have to have a “wow!” wedding. A wedding unlike any other, in a venue just as unique as us. Unfortunately those venues come with high price tags, and I’m starting to wonder if it’s worth it.

This weekend we begin our venue search. The venue we’re visiting on Sunday is $2,000 less than the one we’re visiting tomorrow. It is a “traditional” old mansion, which is a venue that I’ve tried to shy away from, but who says that you can’t have a unique wedding at a “traditional” setting? This venue also reflects my local history, and I’m very proud of where I come from. The boy said to me the other day that he feels that the wedding will be held at this venue, and I immediately dismissed him, but being that he does know me well, I’m starting to think he’s right.

I do want a fabulous wedding and I know that I’ll have one. I just have to get it through my head that the venue really, truly does not matter. If we spend less on the venue, then that frees up money for decor, honeymoon, and most importantly, saving for a house and our future.

No Responses Yet to “Another post about budget vs. expectations”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

