Ramblings on weddings and other random things.

03Nov08

I have another Budget Friendly Vendor Spotlight coming up later today or tomorrow, but I wanted to take a minute to discuss a few random items.

This morning I was surprised to see another photographer that I’m considering (although I hadn’t blogged about yet because I am a forgetful cow) featured on A Practical Wedding! I found Studio Matthewes through the Baltimore thread at Indie Bride. I loved her work, and her prices were right. The entry at A Practical Wedding links to a few blog entries that really made me want to book Jocelyn (the owner of the business) even more! She already won me over with her sweet e-mail, asking questions about me and the fiancé that no other vendor had, but I can’t help but like a vendor who doesn’t want to wring ever nickel and dime from me!

It’s been almost three weeks since I gave my deposit check to the venue and it has still not been cashed. I’m not freaking out yet, as they are a small foundation, and I think they run on their own time there, but I think I am within some rights to be a bit worried. They’re closed today, but I’m e-mailing them tomorrow and hopefully I’ll get a reassuring response. If I don’t, then I’ll start freaking out. I don’t want to start the venue search again, and I’m not thinking I’ll have to, but I can’t help but worry just a bit, as it is my nature.

Yesterday the fiancé and I finally got our butts to Dixie Bones. Since we started dating, I have developed quite a taste for barbeque and this place is the best in the DC area. We were lucky enough to be there during their buffet, which was a real steal at under $9.00 a person! The atmosphere is great too. It reminds me of the mis-matched items in my grandfather’s kitchen.

Wishpot is the best thing since sliced bread. My family are “wish list” people. We like to buy people exactly what they want instead of guessing all the time, so this is perfect, and also for my future in-laws, who don’t know me as well, and my fiancé, while I love him, is a man, and will not remember to tell his parents things that I want for Christmas, so this is perfect. They also have wedding registries, which I think is a great idea too. We had been thinking of registering at Target, but since reading about their terrible return policy, we may just start a Wishpot registry instead and get a lot of similar items there.

Even though I’m not exactly happy at my job, I am thankful that I have one when a lot of people are out of work. I’d made a promise to myself that I would donate more to charity this year, and I’m trying to stick to that. I’ve adopted a child from the DC Salvation Army Tree, she’s six and loves Hannah Montana. It’s so fun to buy for her! Unfortunately there are about 300 children in the program that still need adopting, so if you’re in the area, or even if you’re not, I imagine the situation is the same everywhere, you can go here to help. I’m also planning on donating to The Animal Welfare League of Montgomery County (where I got my cat Quincy) and The Humane Society of Harford County (where I got my cat Charlie). Charities are really in need this year, so I figured if there is a year to donate as much as I can afford, this is it.

No Responses Yet to “Ramblings on weddings and other random things.”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

