Ready To Wear Bridesmaids Dresses

04Dec08

I’m not sure when it was decided that bridesmaids dresses must only be solid, horrendous and altered to fit the maid’s body perfectly. I have a couple problems with this.

1) I am not a fan of plain dresses. If you were to look in my closet, you will find only one solid dress. Everything else has a pattern. Unfortunately the trend of fancy=solid color extends beyond the wedding industry, which is why you’ll find mostly solid colored dresses in my inspiration board below.

2) Why must a bridesmaid spend additional money on top of the overpriced bridesmaids dress to get it altered? I blame the wedding industry. I have never in all my years had anything tailored to fit me, and most of my clothes fit me just fine, which leads me to believe that yes, Virginia, you can wear an off the rack bridesmaids dress. The bridal industry has their own sizing chart for a reason, so they can rip you off with expensive alterations after you’ve bought the dress.

Below is a collection of dresses from major retailers. I tried to stay on the lower end of the average bridesmaids dress, which is about $150. The lowest priced dress is a mere $14.50. My favorite dresses are in the first row. The first dress is from Forever 21 and is a real bargain. Two over from that is my very favorite dress, from nordstrom.com. It’s more expensive at $118, but when you factor in that this dress is ready to wear and would not require alterations, I don’t think it’s a bad deal. One of my bridesmaids is about 5’10” and would look absolutely frickin’ GORGEOUS in that dress! I also love the polka-dotted number with a bow on the side in the second row.

I honestly don’t know what direction we’re going to go with for the wedding, as I haven’t thought that far. A few of the dresses below I could really see the girls in, and I really would like to find a dress that they can buy online or in the store, unless I can find a really good deal at a bridal store.

No Responses Yet to “Ready To Wear Bridesmaids Dresses”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

