Operation: Wedding Dress

08Dec08

Shopping for a wedding dress stresses me out a bit, mainly because I am not a super skinny girl, so the thought of seeing myself shoehorned into a dress with a bunch of clips holding me into is not appealing. I’m amping up my workout in anticipation of trying on dresses. My first appointment is December 30th at the ubiquitous David’s Bridal in Springfield, VA. I’ve printed off the details of about eight dresses that I like. Each dress is different from the previous. I know what I like, but unfortunately this is not a distinct style. I prefer a more simple look. Not a fan of taffeta pouf and overly ornate bead work and sparkles. Other than that, it’s all up in the air. I’m just going to have to try on dresses to see what works on my figure.

I doubt very much I’ll find the dress at David’s, or frankly, even if I do, I don’t really want to just have one experience trying on dresses. It’s an experience I plan on only having once in my life, so I will be visiting Pizazz Wedding Boutique in my hometown of Aberdeen, MD. I’m hoping I can find the dress at either of these stores. Below is a collection of some of my favorite dresses from Pizazz. I’m too lazy to print-screen to get images off David’s, so we’ll save those favorites for another post.

I don’t have a strict budget for my gown, but I’m hoping to stay under $700, but if I LOVE the dress, I may spend a titch more, since I’m planning on selling it after wards. I know a lot of brides buy their dresses off the internet, but I am a bit too gun shy for this. If I were a sample size, I’d go for it, but I’m terrified of getting a dress that makes me look like a hooker since I’m “blessed” in the T&A department, so the only way I’d online shop is for a dress I tried on in the store. I know, how very 20th century of me, but I can’t help it.

I think the photos below illustrate just how confused I am. Oh well. At least I have an idea of what I like. I have a feeling I’m going to end up in a dress that looks nothing like the ones below. Hopefully once I make the decision of long dress vs. short everything will fall into place.

2 Responses to “Operation: Wedding Dress”

  1. So many dresses so little time!

    Look forward to hearing how it turns out!
    Anne

  2. 2 budgetbeautiful

    Thank you for the comment! Your blog looks interesting, I’m going to add it to my reader! 🙂


Leave a Reply

