Dresses!

10Jan09

Now that I have my mojo back, I’m full on back into wedding planning. One of the first things I decided to do away with was the big fussy dress. I made this choice for two reasons. Firstly, our wedding is now going to be far more casual. Secondly, I don’t want to go through the typical bridal dress experience, mainly because I frankly think it’s BS. They don’t order the dress to fit you for a reason, girls. So they can squeeze a couple hundred more dollars out of you for alterations.

Don’t get me wrong. I did enjoy trying on wedding dresses, and may do it again at a local shop near my parents’ home that specializes in cash and carry dresses (they will special order something if they don’t carry it, but most of their trade is selling dresses on the spot). Trying on dresses was a valuable experience for me, as it made me see what dresses looked good and what was total rubbish.

This dress was the overall favorite, although we would get it in ivory since the white dress makes me look like Casper the Ghost (my nickname in middle school, by the way!) I still really DO love this dress. It was comfortable. Simple. Flowy. My only complaint is the train felt like my thirteen pound cat was sitting on it, and that it was just dragging behind me. It is a very flattering dress, and retails for about $450, but my guess is that I’d be looking at least another $200 in alterations to shorten the hem and the train. Click here for the front of the dress and here for the back.

Now I’m thinking about getting an off the rack dress. David’s Bridal online collection features a lot of lovely dresses at really great prices. No, the quality is not going to be fabulous here. You are not going to get delicate silks and chiffon, but material that is made to look as though it is delicate. If you have always dreamed about a big ballgown, please look elsewhere. But if like me you’re leaning towards either a short dress or an unfussy dress, I think this should be the first place to look. Since I did not feel like print screening and editing these photos since David’s disables right click, here are a few of my favorites.

Sweet chiffon halter-$139
This dress is really precious.
Short dress with sweetheart neckline-$159
I am FAR too busty to pull this one off, but I think this would look lovely on a smaller busted bride.
Satin A-Line Off The Shoulder-$199
This one is not a short dress, but I fell in love with a similar design from Alfred Angelo’s line. If you notice, there is also not much of a train on this dress. I already know that A line is the most flattering silhouette for my figure.
Chiffon Dress with Charmeuse Accents-$119
This is my favorite by far. I love the shape of this dress.

I’ll end with an inspiration board of some of my other favorite off the rack dresses. If you are looking to go this route, Nordstrom.com should be your first stop. The dress first row center is a real inspiration to lose weight. I LOVE it. It’s above my price range, but I figure if I get it in my size, then I wouldn’t have to undergo pricy alterations, which is the main point of buying a dress off the rack.

offtherack

No Responses Yet to “Dresses!”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

