Free is always good.

16Jan09

About a year and a half ago, the law firm I work for had a big party to celebrate a merger. They ordered a lot of party favors, and about a hundred were left over. Those party favors have been sitting in my departmental closet ever since. The other day my co-worker mentioned that he’d asked the partner who’d been in charge of the event if he wanted the globes, and was told he could do whatever he wanted with them. He thought this favor might work for my wedding. I looked at him strangely until he pointed out that the bottom popped off and I could customize it.

What is this favor, you ask? Well, it’s a lovely little photo snow globe, similar to the one below, but obviously without the jolly message on the front.

Image and video hosting by TinyPic
Source

I liked them, but they weren’t exactly my ideal wedding favor, and we didn’t have enough left over to give to every guest. That said, I decided to grab these anyway. I’m not sure exactly how I’ll use them yet, but I’m all for using them for the wedding, since they’d likely just be thrown out otherwise. I’m leaning towards rehearsal dinner place settings. Maybe use a photo of us on one side and a note on the other to let people know that they can replace our photo with theirs, since I’m sorry, favors emblazoned with the bride and groom’s faces/dates/logo/etc. are useless to everyone except your parents. This will hopefully save the globes from hitting the trash as soon as the guests get home.

Since most of you do not have the base product to work with, if you do like this idea, you could DIY it yourself. A quick Google search turned up several articles and You tube videos. The quickest ones can be found here and here. These are not specifically a photo snow globe, but it would be easy enough to modify. If it’s on a children’s craft website, I think even I could manage it, and I’m pretty DIY impaired.

No Responses Yet to “Free is always good.”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

