Charitable Wedding Donations

12Feb09

Over the weekend I came across this wonderful video on A Practical Wedding. I’m sure many of you have seen it already, but if you haven’t, take a look and make sure to sign the Courage Campaign’s petition after reading.

“Fidelity”: Don’t Divorce… from Courage Campaign on Vimeo.

The video got me to thinking (well, after I stopped bawling) about which charities we should donate to and display cards for at the wedding. I really like the idea, I think it shows what charities the couple are passionate about. We will likely make donations either in lieu of favors or in addition to them. There are a few charities that are near and dear to my heart. I’m a sucker for animals, lung cancer (beloved grandparents died of lung cancer when I was small, beloved fiance has been smoke-free for almost a year) and gay rights. When I mentioned to my fiance that I was thinking of contributing to The Human Rights Campaign, he liked the idea, but mentioned his right wing relatives might not approve.

I got rather huffy and said “So? I believe in the cause, and so do you. Who cares what they think?” I mentioned this to my mother, who said I should do what I feel is right. I just can’t understand why anyone would not support a charity to help ensure that all people have equal rights. I guess it’s the way I was raised. My parents are not particularly religious, and while they do fall on the right side of the political spectrum, they’re tolerant people. Their only real intolerance is for stupid people in general. My motto has always been, “An asshole is an asshole. It doesn’t matter if they’re black, white, gay or straight, etc. Judge the person, not the color or orientation.”

Getting back to the issue of donations, if we do them, we will probably just place a notice up on the guest book table, and not use the dreaded term “a donation has been made in your name.” I know for one I’d get pretty offended if a donation was made in my name to a charity I didn’t believe in, so I would not do the same to our guests. Hopefully in doing these donations some of our less tolerant guests will have their eyes opened. At the very least, they’ll see what kind of charities we support and won’t spout intolerant BS in our presence, because I have a big mouth and I will tell them to STFU. If you don’t know what that means, I suggest you google it!

One Response to “Charitable Wedding Donations”

  1. Here, here! Loved this whole post. I’m a sucker for animals, so YAY for donations as favors. That is one of my most favorite wedding planning ideas EVER. And yay for calling a jack a jack, regardless of what they look like or who they fall in love with.


Leave a Reply

