The playlist-part one

21Feb09

I’ve been imagining what music will be played at my wedding since I was a little girl. Obviously I’m not planning on having my first dance to “Hungry Like The Wolf” any longer, but certain songs have always made me tear up as I’ve thought of them being played at my wedding. Dancing is not being featured heavily at our reception, but I want the music we love to be heard by all.

My playlist varies from the average bride. I have never wanted to walk down the aisle to “Here Comes The Bride”. GAG. This song has changed over the years, but has been steady for the past few years. Long story short, my MOH and I watch Fight Club every Christmas after baking cookies. She made me watch the movie a fears ago and it’s my favorite movie of all time. It’s become a tradition, and a few years back I mentioned to her that I really wanted to walk down the aisle to “Where Is My Mind” by Pixies, which is played at the end of the movie. She didn’t think it was silly, and thought it would be a nice inside joke. My fiance’s favorite band? Pixies. So, this is probably a done deal, even though he thinks it’s an odd song to walk down the aisle to (La La Love You being a more obvious choice) but he has not nixed the idea. I’m considering the string version of the song that can be found here, but I haven’t decided yet for sure.

As for the wedding party, unless the boy objects, they will be walking down to the String Quartet’s Tribute Tori Amos’ version of Pretty Good Year.

The recessional? No question. Hoppipolla by Sigur Ros. That song is so meaningful and touching, just about every time I hear it, I tear up. For my 30th birthday I was lucky enough to attend the Coachella music festival in southern California. Sigur Ros performed. My friends were not familiar with them at all, but since our favorite band was playing next they agreed to watch them so we’d get a good spot. When this song came on, they started crying, as did I. They played as the sun set over the California desert. It was a very meaningful moment for me and thus why I get very teary when I think of this song being played as our recessional.

First dance? We honestly may not even have one. But if we do? The main contender is The Book of Love by Magnetic Fields. Or Open Window by Sarah Harmer (seen here covered by Feist). I adore the line the sentiment of love, Reflections that speak of what can enter when our hearts are open. I think it’s a beautiful if nontraditional choice.

Here are some other options for consideration for myself, or possibly yourself. These are songs that will be played at our reception regardless. If we could have fifty first dances, these would all be a song!

Matt Nathanson-Wedding Dress
a) I LOVE Matt Nathanson. MOH and I saw him open for Tori Amos a few years ago and he is so sweet and charming, as is this dress. I teared up the first time I heard this song.

I’m Yours-Jason Mraz
The fiance hates this song, so it’s not happening for us, but I think it would be such a wonderful first dance. This song makes my cold heart turn to mush.

Editors-The Weight of The World
The fiance hates Editors second album, which this song comes from, but I adore it. The line: you touch my face, God whispers in my ear, there are tears in my eyes, love replaces fear makes me cry.

Randy Travis-Forever & Ever Amen
I have loved this song since I was a teenager. My future father in law is a big Randy Travis fan, so I know he’d appreciate this.

This Modern Love-Bloc Party
Not a traditional first dance, eh? But we both love Bloc Party (well, not their last album, but who does?) and this is one of the most romantic songs ever.

I Hear a Symphony-The Supremes
This was one of my parents “songs” when they were dating.

Here & Now-Luther Vandross
This song is the one survivor from my teenage years. I’ve wanted this as my first dance since it came out! I grew up loving R&B while my fiance did not, so he was “WTF Luther Vandross?! when I told him. It’s okay, Luther. You’ll still be at our reception!

I’ll Be Loving You Forever-New Kids on the Block
Okay, another lie, I’ve held onto this song since I was 13. But I can’t help it, and my fiance understands my love. I’m going to see them again in Baltimore next month at the same arena I saw them in almost 20 years ago. He understands my love, as do most of my friends and family.

Publish My Love-Rouge Wave
One of our first dates was supposed to be going to see this band at the 9:30 Club in DC, except I was feeling ill so we didn’t go. I’m lame that way.

You’re The One For Me Fatty-Morrissey
I doubt our families would get the joke. The fiance also didn’t appreciate that story I told him about the one date I went on with the guy who had Morrissey tattooed on his back (he also took me to see Morrissey on our one and only date). I thought it was hilarious! I dated a lot of strange men before finding my fiance, what can I say.

Modern Romance-TV On The Radio
This is actually a Yeah Yeah Yeahs cover, but I like their version better. It’s kind of an anti-love song, but beautiful anyway.

Sea Of Love-Cat Power
It’s a new indie kid favorite!

I’ll stop the list here, but I will follow-up this post with other nontraditional songs for other moments for your wedding ceremony and reception.

No Responses Yet to “The playlist-part one”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

