The Playlist Part Two: Cocktail Tunes

15Mar09

A few weeks ago I posted some songs we were considering for our recessional/processional/first dance. Here are some of the songs we’re considering for cocktail hour. We’ll miss most of it as we’re getting photos taken, but I like the idea of these songs being played regardless. We’re looking for a few old classics and our modern favorites. The main purpose of this post is to convince Jeremy of songs he’s not as familiar with, but I hope those of you looking for something different for your cocktail hour will find something you like!

The Boy With The Arab Strap-Belle & Sebastian
My favorite song of theirs, and this is my favorite performance, at Coachella a few years back.

La Vie En Rose-Edith Piaf
In my younger days I wished I had been alive and living the bohemian lifestyle in early 20th century Paris. I adore Edith Piaf.

New Slang-The Shins
More for the boy than me, he loves the Shins. This is the only song of theirs I like.

Origin of Love-Hedwig & The Angry Inch
Two of my three bridesmaids are “Hed-heads” as am I. My MOH and I made Jeremy watch it, and he went out the next day and bought the soundtrack. My mom’s seen it, wonderful aunt even went to see a version of the play in Salt Lake, one of my co-workers is also into Hedwig, so there will be a few people at my wedding that will be quite familiar with the music. If you haven’t seen this movie (or better yet, the stage play) get on that ASAP.

Magnetic Fields-10,000 Fireflies
They are one of my very favorite bands. Ever!

Song Seven-Interpol
My very favorite band ever. I knew Jeremy was for me when he told me traveled two hours to see Interpol. I’ve seen them an obnoxious amount of times in about four different states.

Frank Sinatra-I’ve Got You Under My Skin

Wear Your Love Like Heaven-Donovan
My mother LOVES Donovan.

Hallelujah-Rufus Wainwright
My favorite cover of this song.

I Will Follow You Into The Dark-Death Cab For Cutie
This song makes me a bit weepy, so that’s why I’m including it in during the cocktails, where I won’t hear it as clearly.

The Giant of Illinois-Andrew Bird

La Valse d’Amélie-Yann Tiersen
I am the nerd who went to Paris after Amelie came out and wanted to feel like I was part of the movie. This movie is a treasure, and proof that even shy people (like Jeremy and I) can find love if they’re lucky enough.

Careful-Guster
They are my favorite band that most people have never heard of.

The Coast Is Always Changing-Maximo Park
One of our favorite English bands of recent years.

Beirut-Elephant Guns
I was lucky enough to see this amazing band at the SXSW festival in Austin, TX a couple years ago and the music really touched me.

I’ll leave that there for now or I’ll be here all night!

3 Responses to “The Playlist Part Two: Cocktail Tunes”

  1. love your music choices, some might just end up on my playlist as well 🙂

  2. 2 budgetbeautiful

    Awesome, glad to hear it!


  1. 1 The Playlist Part Two: Cocktail Tunes « A beautiful wedding for less.

Leave a Reply

