Holga Cameras

13May09

I rarely post about things I’ve found on other blogs because I personally hate it when I’m reading my blog reader and see the same information over and over again. That said, yesterday’s post on A Practical Wedding featured some information that was too awesome not to post again.

The post was about whether or not to hire a professional photographer, and one of Meg’s suggestions was to buy a Holga camera or two. The price is very reasonable for a budget bride, and check out the gorgeous photos they produce. Wow. Just WOW. We do have a pro photographer, and I’m very confident in her abilities, but I’m thinking of getting a Holga and passing it around to some of our loved ones to get some shots from a different, dreamy perspective! Actually, I might get two. One for black and white film and one for color!

6 Responses to “Holga Cameras”

  1. 1 Jaklyn

    Or for free, you could take regular digital photos and apply the holga effect on picnik.com. It might not have the same charm as the actual cameras, but free is free 🙂

  2. 2 budgetbeautiful

    Well, I would except I have no graphic design skills nor any patience. I’m the instant gratification kind of girl. 🙂

  3. 3 Tara

    I love my Holga! It’s so cheap that it totally falls apart, but a little black electrical tape to hold things together (and over the photo counter if you don’t want light leaks) and you’re good to go. The cameras often show up on sites like Urban Outfitters, but eBay has them cheapest. Got mine from Hong Kong for about $25, with no troubles. Good luck!

  4. 4 budgetbeautiful

    Thanks for the tips!

  5. I second the Holga love. DO put electrical tape around the edges to prevent too many light leaks (although cool, they can ruin the picture too much), and DO load the cameras in the shade and/or indoors. Make sure you purchase a decent amount of film (each roll holds 12 square frames, or 16 rectangular ones), and budget for the processing and printing! I’d also check out lomography.com for other fun toy camera options. So glad you’re thinking about this!

  6. 6 budgetbeautiful

    Thanks, Jocelyn!


Leave a Reply

