The Playlist Part Six: Grand Entrance

30May09

I’ve neglected this series for awhile, but now I’m back! This post will cover songs that would make great grand entrance songs for either the bridal party or the bride and groom. Like most of my playlists, they focus on mostly indie and Brit rock, with a bit of pop thrown in.

Electric Avenue-Eddy Grant
Jeremy and I joke about my walking down the aisle to this song. I’d do a little dance, but I’d probably fall on my face!

The Underdog-Spoon
One of the greatest song intros of all time.

The Devil-The Rapture
Super funky, and the Rapture is one of Jeremy’s favorite bands.

Words-Doves
Another one of those bands Jeremy and I both love.


Suffragette City-David Bowie

Say Hello To The Angels-Interpol

How Soon Is Now-The Smiths
This was the only Smiths song that I liked (my older sister loved them) until I was old enough to know better, but it’s still one of my favorites.

Shoot The Runner-Kasabian
Jeremy told me that he’d like some Kasabian somewhere in the wedding, so here we go.

No You Girls-Franz Ferdinand
Even though I may have to end my professional relationship with Franz (touring with Green Day? Seriously?) this song will even have Grandma bustin’ a move.

Gigantic-Pixies
I thought this was a nice little love song until Jeremy told me it’s really about a big cock. I still love it, though.

Dancing In Heaven-Q-Feel
If you’ve seen “Girls Just Want To Have Fun”, you understand.

Shiver-Coldplay
While neither of us are fans of their later work, Jeremy and I both agree “Parachutes” is one of the best albums of all time.

Friday I’m In Love-The Cure
I can name at least ten people attending our wedding that love The Cure.

Vegas Two Times-Sterephonics

Uptight (Everything’s Alright)-Stevie Wonder

Scenic World-Beirut
There are two versions of this song. This is the best one.

No Responses Yet to “The Playlist Part Six: Grand Entrance”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

