Product Review: EA Active

08Jun09

I would be lying if I said I’ve been vigilant with my weight loss efforts. The exact opposite is true. I have gotten quite lazy. So, when I heard that EA was coming out with a game that would rival Wii Fit, I was excited. I bought EA Active a few days ago and I’m pretty impressed so far.

Of course with any game like this there are kinks. For some exercises, the Wii remote has to be in a very particular position and if it’s not, your on screen character will just stand there. Luckily you do have the option to remove the more trickier movements from your workout regime until you feel like going back to them.

You can pick the length of your workout and the movements. I was pretty surprised to find that I was sweating buckets by the time I finished the first workout, thanks to track work like high kicks, running and kick ups. You will sweat and you will burn calories with this game. Jeremy tried it with me yesterday without the leg band that keeps track of your progress (you can buy another one, and the game would track both of our progress) and he was sweating too. He worked along with me with my set of hand weights, while I used the resistance band that came with the game.

Is this the best workout ever? No. Will it help motivate a lazy bride or anyone that needs to add a bit of variety to their workout? Absolutely! The game is filled with positive affirmations and there’s a real sense of pride knowing how many calories you’re burning and seeing how you’re progressing from day to day. I often watch the clock while doing workout DVDs, and this workout flies by.

If you’ve got a Wii, skip the Wii Fit and get EA Active instead! It’s $30 cheaper than the Wii Fit, and much cheaper than a gym membership!

2 Responses to “Product Review: EA Active”

  1. 1 Taylor Barnes

    I’m working on a blog post for the Monitor about planning weddings during a recession. From your site, it looks like you would be a great source for this. I would love to hear from you; if you get this soon and could shoot me an email at barnest@csmonitor.com, I would be very appreciative. Thanks!

    Best, Taylor

  2. 2 Brett

    Great review. I checked out the EA Active website – http://www.easportsactive.com/ – and thought it looked pretty good but it’s always nice to get a “second opinion” 😉 Good to hear it offers a better workout than Wii Fit.


Leave a Reply

