The invitations are done!

12Jun09

I just got photos from Kristin at Twin Ravens Press, our invitations are done! I’m really pleased with how they turned out. Simple and elegant. While I like a lot of contemporary invitations, I knew that I probably wouldn’t in ten years time. Why does this matter? Well, my parents wedding invitation has been hanging in their house my whole life. I knew I wanted to do the same with ours, so I wanted to make sure I was going to like it if I was going to be looking at it when I’m 50.

Kristin altered a design that she had created for another Baltimore bride & groom. Their set was a bit more involved than ours (one of their inserts was a gorgeous letterpressed map!) but I liked it instantly. The only real changes we made were to the fonts, the colors, and our invitations do not have ribbon detailing like theirs, but that’s mainly because I didn’t want to pay extra postage or worry about smooshed ribbon on our invites in our guests’ mailboxes.

She actually took quite a few more photos than I’m showing here, but a lot of them have our address or other personal information and would look gross blurred out with my lazy ass MS Paint skills. I think these photos get the point across.

Here’s an up close shot of the letterpress!
invite3


The invitation itself. Kristin mounted it onto matching card stock.
invite2

Our reply card and envelope. Aren’t they precious?
untitled

She’s shipping them out to me today, I can’t wait to get them in my hot little hands! I was too afraid to have them shipped to my home (even though our complex would sign for them) so I’m having them sent to work. Lord help the person on the metro that tries to jostle me when I have this precious cargo in my arms!

5 Responses to “The invitations are done!”

  1. 1 Erin

    Lovely invitations!

  2. Have you received these yet- do you LOVE them??!! 🙂 So glad you went with her!

    Sorry to hear about the family turmoil recently. *hugs* to make it better!

    • 3 budgetbeautiful

      I got them a couple weeks ago. I love them! 🙂

  3. 4 Joy

    I love your invitation’s color. lovely!!

  4. Oh swoon. The colour is delicious too.


Leave a Reply

