When the drama llama comes a’ calling.

24Jun09

As I mentioned last week, Jeremy’s family is going through some issues right now. I’m not going to get into specifics, but it involves a particular family member making some very, very bad choices. I really can’t stand the sight of this person right now, and guess what? This person is in our wedding party.

:groan:

So what to do? Of course my first instinct is to tell this person they’re not allowed within 100 miles of my wedding. But part of marriage is compromise, and dealing with people you’d rather punch in the face than be nice to. This is something I have a hard time with. Jeremy’s family is not like mine. I’m from the “scream first, apologize later” school, where he comes from the “let’s forget it didn’t happen and/or have a passive aggressive fight seven months from now when you don’t even remember what I’m talking about” school. I have a hard time pretending like nothing happened, and an even harder time pretending to like people. I’m an open book. If I don’t like you? You’re usually aware of it, because my body language is a giveaway.

So, we’re both dealing with it. I get angry when I see how upset everything is making Jeremy and his family, and my first instinct is to want to inflict verbal assault on the person causing this pain. I’m hoping this urge fades with time and by the wedding I can stand being in the same room with this person without feeling that awkwardness in the pit of my stomach.

Failing that, our coordinator will be instructed to keep this person as far away from me as possible, as I tend to word vomit when I’m emotional, and I don’t need drama on my wedding day. Here’s to hoping for the best!

4 Responses to “When the drama llama comes a’ calling.”

  1. 1 mariko

    Sorry to hear you’re going through a rough patch with his family – I hope you both feel better soon. I’m sure by the time of the wedding, things will have calmed down a bit, and everybody will just be there to celebrate your marriage!

    • 2 budgetbeautiful

      Thanks, I hope things will be calmer by that point too. 🙂

  2. 3 Amber

    I am right there with you. Unfortunately the drama is with my brother & his (soon to be) ex wife. I DID put my foot down about my feelings toward her. Now he isn’t coming and isn’t bringing his kids 😦

    • 4 budgetbeautiful

      Oh, Amber! I’m really sorry to hear that! It’s a shame he couldn’t be a grown-up about things. I think he will regret not being there.


Leave a Reply

