Shower Anxiety

20Jul09

My bridal shower is on Saturday. I’m slightly anxious about this as I honestly do hate being the center of attention. The plus side of this is that in addition to being a bride planning an intimate wedding, my shower will also be intimate. There will be about six of us there.

Some part of me wishes I was having a large shower, but that part is very wee. Since turning 30 I’ve developed a terrible nervous habit. My chest turns bright red and I break out into hives. When Jeremy and I got engaged my chest turned bright red. And I knew that was coming, it wasn’t a surprise! I’m hoping I can avoid this on wedding day. I also have the tendency to scratch and make it worse, so I’m going to have to have someone on scratch watch on the day.

So, it’s probably for the best that my shower is only including a few people that I’m already comfortable with. They’ve all met, so that takes away the need for those absolutely asinine shower games (HAAAAATE THEM) so we’ll be eating and opening presents. I know that some gifts have been purchased off my registries, although I only know for sure about a couple, as unlike a lot of brides, I don’t registry stalk!

So, I’m going to try to wear a dress that covers my chest to hide my hives, and hope for the best. Everyone is coming to celebrate my marriage, and it’s really touching!

On Sunday we’re stuffing envelopes and our invitations will be hitting the mail a week from today! I can’t believe we’re finally getting down to crunch time! It’ll be here before we know it.

2 Responses to “Shower Anxiety”

  1. Oh, it’s so nice to hear from someone else that really doesn’t enjoy being the centre of attention. I don’t get the physical reaction you do but I do feel awful when things are about me. As a dr myself I would suggest you could chat to your family dr about a simple medication which may or may not help on your day.

    Yey for the intimate weddings – where there is only love and no posturing.

    • 2 budgetbeautiful

      Hanks for the tip, I will look into getting some medication!


Leave a Reply

