Well, it fits! Er, kind of.

28Jul09

My second dress arrived from David’s Bridal yesterday. I have to hand it to them, they ship VERY quickly. I placed my order on Thursday and had it on Monday. The dress is super cute and has a very vintage feel to it that I love. There’s just one problem. It doesn’t really fit.

I’m not that surprised about this, because I’ve gained weight recently. When I went to Davids Bridal in December to try on dresses, I fit into the size I ordered. Well, I’m a bit bigger now. I can zip the dress about half-way up my back, so it’s not like ALL hope is lost. But now it’s decision time. Do I try and fit into this dress or do I exchange it for a larger size?

Unfortunately David’s doesn’t give you much time to make this choice. If you want to return it, they give you only 14 days from when it was shipped. So I need to make up my mind pretty darn quick, and I’m torn! On the one hand, I shouldn’t try to force myself to fit into a dress and then what happens if I don’t lose weight and it still doesn’t fit? I also have the tendency to forget to eat when I’m stressed, so odds are the weight will fall off me in the weeks leading up to the wedding.

On the other, the dress is kind of poufy. If it’s too big, it’ll make me look bigger than I am, and Lord knows I don’t need that!

So, I’m walking down to Filene’s Basement today to look for some Spanx. If that helps me zip up the dress further, then I think I will keep it and use it as motivation to get my butt in shape. If it does nothing, then I’m sending it back.

3 Responses to “Well, it fits! Er, kind of.”

  1. 1 Amber

    oh that is hard …. which one did you decide on?? Is there any way you can go to a David’s close and try on the next size up in a similar style?

  2. 2 budgetbeautiful

    Unfortunately these dresses are only sold online. When I went to Davids they only had one “tea length” dress and it looked nothing like the one I bought.

  3. If you think it will be easy to lose a couple of pounds to fit into the prettiness then keep it. If you think it just adds another level of stress, exchange.

    I hope you keep!



