Something happy for a sad day

04Aug09

I went to see my parents this weekend and my dad was fine when I saw him on Saturday. On Sunday he complained of headaches and eye pain, and laid down for most of the day. My dad is never one to admit he’s sick, so of course I was worried. This morning he admitted himself to the emergency room, and he’s currently undergoing tests. To say that I’m freaking out and very worried would be the understatement of the year. I’m hopeful they’ll find nothing is wrong and he’ll be discharged today, but if not, Jeremy and I are going up there tonight. We live about two and a half hours away from my parents, and on times like this it seems very, very far.

To lighten the mood, I’ll share something great that came in the mail yesterday. In the pile of reply cards (five!!), magazines and junk mail was an envelope from Disneyland. In that envelope? Personalized wedding greetings from Mr. Mickey Mouse and Miss Minnie Mouse! We also got a Just Married button from Disneyland. My parents went to Disneyland for their honeymoon, I wish we were going!
mickey

We also sent greetings to the President & Mrs. Obama and The Washington Redskins. We’re curious to see if we get anything back from them.

5 Responses to “Something happy for a sad day”

  1. I am sorry to hear about your father. It is never a good thing when one of your family members are down. My Mom’s health is up and down and this year is one of her worsts and unfortunately I worry a lot. Maybe it is because they haven’t quite figured out what she has.

    Anyway, that is cool about getting a greeting from Mickey and Minnie Mouse! I absolutely LOVE Disney. Do you have another post stating the details on where we can send an invite to them? I have read your prev. about sending a greeting to President Obama.

  2. 2 budgetbeautiful

    Thanks, I hope my Dad will be feeling better soon.

    Mickey’s address:

    The Walt Disney Company
    Attn: Fan Mail Dept.
    500 South Buena Vista Street
    Burbank, CA 91521

    We got a response less than week after the invitation was sent, they must have done it the same day.

  3. 3 honeymyheart

    i am sorry about your father. thoughts and prayers to your family today.

  4. I’m so sorry about your father but prayerfully it will be nothing serious. I know exactly how you feel, I live in SC and my mom lives in Puerto Rico, the only time she’s been in the emergency room I caught a flight and was there that night!!!

  5. Oh gosh, I hope you father is fairing well.



