Operation Dress Fit!

20Aug09

In case you’re wondering, I wanted to give an update on how my wedding dress is fitting. When I got it about three weeks ago, it zipped up about as far as the small of my back. I tried it on the other day and I can proudly say it’s now zipping a good inch further! That said, I can’t take all the credit. I had a little help from my Spanx! Yes, there are other, cheaper alternatives to Spanx, but my undergarments were one area I didn’t want to be cheap. I wanted something that would suck me in and give me a smooth look under my dress. So I went with the Slim Cognito Seamless Mid-Thigh Bodysuit. It does the trick and has two neat features. The first is a “pee hole” for lack of a better term. The bodysuit has a fold so you can go to the bathroom without taking it off. Secondly, there are straps to attach the body suit to your bra so it doesn’t roll down when you move.

I will say that the Spanx were only a small part of why my dress fits. Jeremy and I have been working out every night and cutting back on fast food and other treats. We vary our workouts, for every hardcore Jillian Michaels-esque workout we do, we follow that with two days of low impact aerobics or strength training. We’re taking this route as we were both pretty out of shape. We’re hoping by the time we hit about 20 days out, we’ll be in good enough shape to do Jillian every day! He’s lost about five pounds and I’ve lost about four, and I can see definition in my arms and my pants are fitting looser! I’m really glad that dress didn’t fit, because this is the motivation I needed to get off my butt and get in shape!

