A Productive Weekend

24Aug09

With only a month and some change to go until the big day, I think I’m handling things pretty well. Jeremy and I are getting a lot done for the wedding, but it’s funny, we’ve both fallen back in love with The Beatles and have been spending a lot of out time watching Beatles shows and a lot of our online time looking at Beatles information. It’s funny how that works out, eh? I have my mind occupied with a band that formed almost 20 years before I was born. I guess that’s my mind’s way of coping with wedding stress, focus on something else!

That said, we did get a lot done this weekend. We mailed off final payments to our venue and our DOC, tweaked our vows a bit, and bought some gifts. We wanted to get frames for our parents, and ended up getting overpriced engraved frames at Things Remembered. The engraving costs more than the frames! Oh well. They’re nice quality frames and the girl at the store suggested a lovely inscription:
What we learned of love
We learned from you

Sweet, isn’t it? We put our names and wedding date on the bottom. I’m inserting a sheet in the frame letting them know we’ll also be purchasing them any 5×7 photo they want from our photographer.

We also got our best man a monogrammed Zippo that we think he’ll love, and I got my bridesmaids a few gifts, so that’s crossed off the list!

We were also quite naughty: it was time to get our rings cleaned (we have to have it done twice a year) and instead of just carting our wedding rings in the box like we normally do, we wore them! It took Jeremy some time to get used to the ring, but he was reluctant to take it off once it was time to put them away again. I can’t believe that it’ll only be a few more weeks until we’re wearing them permanently!

For those of you married ladies or those of you close to the big day: how did you handle stress in the weeks leading up to your wedding?

5 Responses to “A Productive Weekend”

  1. Isn’t it funny how Things Remembered engraving cost more then the items themselves? My FI and I bought quite a few gifts from them and the engravings were outrageously expensive. We bought them anyway but we had to limit the amount of words used unfortunately.

    • 2 budgetbeautiful

      Yeah, I about had a heart attack when I saw how much it would cost, but I knew that our parents would love the frames, so we went ahead with it.

  2. PS: the way I handle stress right now is pretty much telling myself that everything will be OK even if it isn’t perfect. It will all work out in the end. As long as we get married and enjoy ourselves that is all that matters.

  3. Honestly, the month before the wedding was hard but the week before? Stress free. You just get so excited to really be getting married, you realize it will all be as it should. SO many brides that I have talked to say this happens- I became so zen it was a little weird even đŸ™‚

  4. Yeah things went cri-zazzzy the weeks before the wedding. I was able to let things go and let people help. The girls helped me with the slightly miscut programs (the second time they were miscut by Kinko’s) and my cousins and aunt helped with the flowers day before (original ones didn’t work). Things didn’t go perfectly but it was great and a ton of fun!



