Our Beatle-fied reception

29Aug09

I’m in the process of finalizing our playlists and burning CD back-ups, which means it’s time for me to make up my effing mind about some certain important songs. I’ve waffled over the song that I’ve walked down the aisle and gone back and forth several times. I’ve gone for the eclectic (Pixies) dreamy (Sigur Ros) but I’ve decided to go with a song that I’ve loved since I was a little girl:

Yeah, it’s a little “Love Actually”, but who cares? I tear up knowing that my Dad will be walking me down the aisle to this song. As a kid, The Beatles were the ONLY pop music that my father listened to, and the only music we really listened to in the car, as I was a child of parents who listened to NPR.

I had wanted to walk down the aisle to “Here Comes the Sun”, but Jeremy vetoed it, saying he’d cry. I reminded him he SHOULD be crying at our wedding, but I understand where he’s coming from, so I chose “All You Need Is Love” instead.

Other Beatles songs and their solo songs that will have a place at our wedding:

Something
This is my parents “song”. It came out the year they met.

Good Day Sunshine

Oh, My Love-John Lennon
My absolute favorite song of John’s solo work.

Maybe I’m Amazed-Paul McCartney
Paul & Linda were such a wonderful couple and such an example of true love.

I Will

Hello, Goodbye
This was one of those songs I remember listening to as a child, in the car with my Dad.

With a Little Help From My Friends

I Feel Fine

How are you incorporating your favorite music into your wedding?

3 Responses to “Our Beatle-fied reception”

  1. 1 Michele

    I’m super excited about the music you’ve chosen!!!! I’m on a huge Beatles kick too.

    I would have cried too if you chose Here comes the sun…just thinking about it teared me up.

    <3,

    a bridesmaid (Michele)

  2. 2 budgetbeautiful

    LOL, I’m glad I didn’t choose it then, I didn’t want my whole wedding party to be crying! 🙂 All You Need is Love is just such a joyous song, I felt it right to walk down the aisle to.


  1. 1 Our Beatle-fied reception « A beautiful wedding for less. | TheStylishWedding.com

