A list of things I don’t care about.

31Aug09

We are t-minus 26 days to the wedding and I look at blogs and message board posts of other September brides, and a lot of the things they’re freaking out over? I could not give a rat’s hoo-ha about. I shall list them thusly:

-My hair/make-up.
I’m not having professionals do my hair and make-up, it’s just not in the budget. My baby fine hair and round (read: fat) face would not do for any of the fancy wedding up-dos that are popular now, so I’m just wearing my hair down. My sister reminded me that we really should do a dry run of my hair before the big day, and my response was something along the lines of “If it makes you happy, sure.” I didn’t even wear make-up for my engagement shoot, so this tells you how little I care about it. My bridesmaids and I will pick some make-up out the day before the wedding and do a dry-run then. I know they won’t let me walk down the aisle looking like a hot mess, so I’m not worried about it.
-My remaining RSVPs.
Most of the people who haven’t responded we figured weren’t coming anyway. There’s two outstanding RSVPs that we’ll hopefully get back today or tomorrow that are yes’s, but other than that? I think we’re good. Most of these people are not in the area, so we don’t have to worry about people showing up at the last minute.
-Ceremony decor.
Some part of me would LOVE pomanders to put on the chairs for the ceremony, but it’s just not happening. My give a damn is officially broken.
-What shoes, jewelry, etc. my bridesmaids are wearing
As long as they’re all wearing the same dress? I could care less. Call me crazy, but all my bridesmaids are all in their 30’s and 40’s, and I trust that they are competent women who can dress themselves without my instruction.
-What the weather’s going to be like.
Okay, this is a lie. I care a teensy bit, but I love my venue inside and out. If we have to get married inside, we will still have gorgeous pictures. And if it’s raining? Unless it’s a monsoon and we have to worry about our photographer’s camera being ruined, we’ll still go outside and get our photos in the woods. This is one benefit of having a short dress, I don’t have to worry about it getting muddy!

3 Responses to “A list of things I don’t care about.”

  1. 1 Michele

    I saw your comment about my glasses conundrum at my journal…I just didn’t want to ruin your pictures with my weird eyes….thanks for not being a Bridezilla!

    Michele

    • 2 budgetbeautiful

      Don’t worry about it, honestly. You see it more than anyone else does! Also, we’re not having that many posed portraits anyway, as I think they’re cheesy.

  2. “My give a damn is officially broken.”

    Love it!



