My biggest wedding regret

04Sep09

Hands down, my biggest regret about my wedding planning was not finding a dress early on in my planning. I tried on dresses at one store, David’s Bridal. I should have gone to others, and gone the traditional bridal salon route. I didn’t, and for me, it’s been a major pain in the ass. I got a dress from China that’s really lovely, but once it got here I realized it wasn’t me, and that I’d have to spend at least $200 to get it altered. Then I got a dress from David’s Bridal that doesn’t fit. Last night I tried it on with the crinoline, just to get an idea of what it would look like in a bigger size, and I looked as big as a house. Jeremy said he liked it without the crinoline and it was pretty, but in all honesty? I just don’t feel pretty in that dress.

Soooooo, with 22 days to go, I’m back at the drawing board. I’ve got to find something to wear down the aisle! I’ve decided to get two dresses, in the hopes that one of them will work. If they don’t, I will really be in a panic!

The first is this dress from nordstrom.com which I’ve liked for awhile. The back is a bit low, but I think I’d be able to wear a standard bra with it.

_5821386

Then there’s dress from David’s Bridal, which I frankly don’t LOVE, but I think would look cute with a crinoline.
dress2

Thoughts? Also, if you know of a site that carries tea length wedding dresses that I can buy right away, please let me know ASAP. I’m going to buy the nordstrom dress today for sure, but I’m still holding out on that second dress in hopes I’ll find something that wows me a bit more.

Edit:
I found another adorable dress for $76 at shabbyapple.com. Their dresses are SO CUTE and I think I found my RD dress there too!
dress4

3 Responses to “My biggest wedding regret”

  1. 1 Michele

    I like the first and third dresses best!

  2. I absolutely LOVE that dress from Nordstrom! It is STUNNING!

  3. 3 frugalfaye

    I love love love the lace on the Nordstrom dress. I also like the third one as well (big fan of the semi-shirt-dress look). Have you considered going to a local dressmaker? That’s how I ultimately found a way to get the perfect short wedding dress (I brought her pictures of a vintage one that had been sold already and she’s copying it for me). I was amazed at how reasonable her prices were and how quick her turn-around time is. Just a thought if you still can’t find the perfect dress, though it definitely looks like you’ve got some great possibilities here.



