At my wit’s end.

05Sep09

Last night I stayed late at work to make sure the work schedule for my co-workers was correct. So, instead of taking the metro to the train like I normally do to get home, I took the metro to Springfield and Jeremy met me there. We had dinner in Woodbridge, and I was going to pay to thank him for driving to meet me. It was then that I discovered that my wallet was missing.

I am a very careful person with my important possessions, but when I left work yesterday I was tired and distracted. I think it fell out of my purse while I was digging for a piece of gum. We drove back to DC to see if I left it at work. It didn’t. So, I must have lost it on the metro. So, on the way home I canceled my credit cards. I should have new ones the week before the wedding. When I got home, I was (thankfully) able to order a replacement license online. Am I very upset with myself for being so careless, but what can I do? We all lose something important at some point in our lives. I’m trying not to beat myself up too badly about it, but I’m still really upset. I guess it should be a good sign that charges hadn’t been run up on my cards. I’m hoping this means it hadn’t been found yet or that the person that found it is a good egg and either is going to mail it to me or turned it to Metro lost & found, where I’ve already filed a claim.

While I’m at work, I check my voicemail. The dress I ordered from Shabby Apple has a make-up stain on it. FABULOUS. I think they shipped it anyway, so we’ll see how bad it is and if it can be cleaned. Then I get an e-mail from Nordstrom that the dress I ordered is no longer available. The universe is fucking with me in a spectacular fashion! So, since I have no credit cards at the moment, I think I’m going to have Jeremy order me this dress. I’m also looking around for bridesmaids dresses that come in ivory or off white. I also may go into a David’s Bridal store and see what they have that I could just buy & wear right away. I’m just too tired to be dealing with all this right now.

3 Responses to “At my wit’s end.”

  1. I am so sorry. It’s been a bad few days for so many people I know – I wonder if something is going on in the universe?

    I know it’s far, but I Do I Do in Gaithersburg is where I got my dress and they have a big consignment section, so you might find something you like that you can walk away with right then. The Nordstrom at the Columbia Mall is usually well stocked and I’ve had them track down a dress that was sold out before – they got a store in California to ship it to them and I had it within a week. The Bloomingdales in Bethesda also has a great selection of dresses, if you’re coming over this way. I don’t know the Virginia stores as well, sorry!

    • 2 budgetbeautiful

      Thanks for the tips. We’re going to try and hit David’s Bridal this weekend and if that doesn’t work, we’ll be hitting up other stores in the very near future!

  2. Good luck!



