You take the good, you take the bad

08Sep09

So, I have some good news to report, along with some bad. We’ll get the bad news out of the way first:

-I’m sick. I started feeling crap yesterday, and this morning I decided to stay home from work. Doing this means that I’ll have to work on 9/24, which is a day I had off, two days before the wedding. This is because I have just enough leave for the wedding and honeymoon, and taking today off messes that up. The weather is absolute crap today and I don’t want to get even sicker before my wedding.
-Still no word about my wallet, but I’m hoping it will turn up.
-Just got a call from my boss, CVS called, I left it at the pharmacy on Friday and they’re holding it there for me in the manager’s office. Thank GOD. If I were to leave it anywhere, I picked a good spot, they know me because of all my recent medical calamities.
-Had my final meeting at the venue with my caterer and DOC. I left feeling good, I know that they’ll take care of everything. We also picked our final linen choices, we’re going with a dark purple damask for the guest tables, and the other tables and napkins will be a soft dove gray. I think it’s going to look gorgeous!
-Best news of all: Jeremy and I went to David’s Bridal in Woodbridge on Saturday. I was somewhat hopeful that I’d find a dress I could tolerate and that wasn’t going to cost me an arm and a leg. Well, I guess everything happens for a reason, because I found THE dress. That moment where you tear up and never want to take the dress off? Yep, I had it. This dress was the first one I put on and I told the sales consultant not even to bother with the rest. Want to see it?

dress

I feel like a beautiful bride in that dress. Not a big fat bride. Best of all? The flower on the side works very well with the flower on my headpiece. They didn’t have the dress in my size, so they’re altering down a larger size for me. It’ll be ready three days before the wedding. I know I should be worried that it’ll be wrong or there will be problems, but I’m really not. I think it’ll be right. And if it’s not? They’ll get it fixed before the wedding or I will go cuckoo bananas on them! I’m so thankful that they were able to make it work for me. They assured me, and told me they’d find a dress for me and not for me to worry about it. Guess I’m not the only bride they’ve seen with this problem! The alterations cost almost as much as the dress, but I don’t care. I love the dress, and I have kept so well on my budget for this wedding, so I’m getting the dress that makes me feel beautiful.

I learned my lesson. Go for the dress you love, and don’t give up until you find it. I just wish I’d found it a few weeks or months sooner!

3 Responses to “You take the good, you take the bad”

  1. 1 frugalfaye

    I love it. Especially the gathering at the waist. So glad to hear you finally found “the dress.”

  2. 2 Michele

    What a gorgeous dress! I do like the flower and the waist. Isn’t it funny how this dress is not what you were imagining at all? It always works out that way. You’ll look beautiful in this.

  3. Hey there!

    Just came across your blog. I am so happy the headband is working out and can’t wait to see pictures from your big day!

    Your dress is beautiful and I know you will look GORGEOUS!

    xo
    Amanda – Untamed Petals



