The final cut: Pre-Wedding Playlist

12Sep09

Two weeks from today I will be moments from walking down the aisle. So it’s about time that I finalize my playlists. Today I’ll share the few songs that will be playing as guests arrive. This playlist is about 40 minutes long, which is a bit longer than we need.

Just Like Heaven-The Cure
An ode to Jeremy’s second favorite band, and to my older sister, who instilled a love of the Cure into a wee 13 year old teeny bopper.

Quelqu’un M’a Dit-Carla Bruni

Sea of Love-Cat Power
A must at any indie wedding.

Imagine-John Lennon
Not a love song, but a song dear to both Jeremy and I.

Origin of Love-Hedwig & The Angry Inch
It wouldn’t be our wedding without a little bit of Hedwig.

Adele-Make You Feel My Love
A beautiful cover of one of my favorite Billy Joel songs.

La Vie En Rose-Edith Piaf
I heart, heart HEART Edith Piaf. The version I have of this song that I have she sings part of the song in French and part in English.

Here Comes The Sun-The Beatles
The song I’d be walking down the aisle to if it wouldn’t make my whole bridal party start weeping.

The First Day of My Life-Bright Eyes
Bright Eyes is a bit too navel gazing for my tastes-except this song. It gives me goosebumps.

Chasing Cars-Snow Patrol
I have a lame reason for picking this song. When Gavin & Stacey (on the British show with the same name) got married, this song played and I bawled like an absolute goon, and I knew I wanted it to be play right before I walked down the aisle.

Okay, no looking back and no more playlist tinkering! This one is done!

