September can suck my butt.

19Sep09

The latest drama to land in my lap this month? My computer is D-E-D. On Thursday I downloaded the Windows Vista Service Pack 2. I didn’t turn on the computer yesterday, but when I did today, it just froze on me. I was typing an e-mail to our photographer and the cursor kept disappearing, then the computer just froze up. I restarted it, and I couldn’t get it to boot to Windows. We tried Safe Mode, restore, and even made a system back-up CD. Nothing worked. We took it to Best Buy since I have my service plan through them, and they couldn’t fix it either. They told me it was an operating system problem (ya think?) and that wasn’t covered.

Figures. Good thing I’ve come to terms with my savings being dwindled pre-wedding, because there goes another $230! I’ll hopefully have it back next week before the wedding. I guess it could be worse, at least I finished my playlists and burned my CD back-ups last weekend, so we’re set there. I’m hoping they’ll be able to restore my files, but worst case scenario I can probably import the music from my ipod into my computer. I’m just mad that because of this Jeremy was late to his bachelor party. We figured we’d just drop it off and leave, but they did try to repair it, so we were there for awhile.

Moral of the story: if you’re using Vista, do NOT download that effing service pack, and that goes double if you have a Sony Vaio!

3 Responses to “September can suck my butt.”

  1. Phew, so glad I read this, I’m lazying in bed trying to catch up on some blogs as it is far too early to be awake on a Sunday (I’m in the UK) and was about to install Service Pack 2 to my Sony Vaio but because I’m not plugged in it won’t update. Then I came across your post, will not be installing Service Pack 2 – Thank you so much for the warning!! Fingers crossed all will be fixed soon xx

  2. Oh god that really sucks.

  3. So sorry to hear about that, i hope everything works out!



