It’s not going to be perfect.

06Oct09

It’s hard to believe that I’ve been married for over a week and I’m now back in the real world. I’m not going to lie to you, it’s depressing! The week of the wedding was pretty stressful, but now that it’s over, things are moving pretty slowly. I don’t miss wedding planning in the least, but I do miss the time it took up! That said, now that it’s over I have time to reflect on the day.

I have to be honest, my wedding day went really well. I had my freak-out on Friday, and I’m glad I got it out of the way because on Saturday? Things went well. Of COURSE there are going to be snags. Here are a few of them:

-I forgot my solemates and ended up wearing flip flops down the aisle as my heels were sinking into the grass. Because of this I almost tripped going down the aisle. Ladies, wear the shoes you wore at your dress fitting or you may faceplant!
-I felt horrible about almost falling until my bridesmaids informed me that my mother almost fell, so I wasn’t the only one!
-The best man dropped the rings. He almost dropped them in a bush. It was pretty damn hilarious.
-The woman working at our venue was annoying. I stood outside with my vendors for about 20 minutes until she arrived. Of course, I was told that the other woman that works weddings is laid back and doesn’t care who goes in the venue before she’s there. Just my luck. She also butted in where it wasn’t necessary, like telling my bridesmaids they were holding their bouquets too low. Ugh.

Honestly? That’s about all that went wrong. It DID rain on my wedding day, but it was like something out of the movies. We had our ceremony and portraits outside. Once we moved inside to eat, it rained. Once we were done eating, it stopped. Once we left the reception, it started again and didn’t stop all night.

We did have people leave early. Some of Jeremy’s family stayed for the ceremony and left, as they came a long way to see us and needed to head back. Our own siblings left early too-but this is okay. We realized long ago that our wedding was never going to be as important to our guests as it was to us. It’s important that people come to your wedding-not how long they stay.

No one really played the board games. But I figured that this would be the case. Everyone thought they were neat, and some people did play cards, but I figured most of our guests would talk-and that’s what they did.

Overall, everyone had a great time and many people told me how unique our wedding was, which is always great to hear! It really makes all those months of planning and all the hours spent on those little details worth it!

One Response to “It’s not going to be perfect.”

  1. Perfection is seriously overrated. You sound like you had your “imperfect” day.

    Congratulations!



